Uncommon Sky – Rick Faris

by | 12 Jun, 2023

Rick Faris

Rick Faris, releases His 3rd Album: Uncommon Sky.

The 2022 International Bluegrass Association’s New Artist Of The Year Rick Faris, releases his third album on Dark Shadow Recording, Uncommon Sky.

I’ve always owned a bit of the songs I’ve written, but these particular stories came to me in the last couple of years and I felt compelled to tell them. Gathered from friends or personal experience of pain and joy, there’s lots of truth on this project. I’m thankful to my cowriters Rick Lang and Evan Dickerson for joining me on this journey. The album is about celebrating the Uncommon Skies in our lives. Every sunrise brings unique challenges and opportunities and I’m grateful for each one. Having Del McCoury and Jerry Douglas on my album is a particular thrill and I’m blown away that they shared their talents. I feel like I continue to refine my sound and my songwriting voice, and Uncommon Sky is evidence of that – Nick Faris.

Uncommon SkyClearly showing his growth as an artist, songwriter and performer, Uncommon Sky is the third project we’ve worked on together. Supported by a cracker-jack band and some powerful guests, he continues to push his own musicality. I’m proud to see Rick carving his own special place in the Bluegrass universe – Stephen Mougin, producer.

Faris wrote or co-wrote every track on the album, except for a cover of the Huey Lewis mega hit The Power Of Love, released as a single in February this year.

The album features Rick on lead and harmony vocal and guitaralong with Laura Orshaw on fiddle, Harry Clark and Ronnie McCoury on mandolin, Zak McLamb on bass, Jerry Douglas resonator guitar, Russ Carson and Luke Munday on banjo and vocalists Del McCoury, Ronnie McCoury, Dani Flowers, Stephen Mougin, Eddie Faris, and Ben James. As with all DSR releases, Uncommon Sky was produced, engineered, and mixed by Mougin.

Uncommon Sky Track List:
01 Don’t Hold Back
02 The One That Got Away
03 The Power Of Love
04 Please Don’t Say Goodbye
05 Too Lonely, Way Too Long
06 Love Sweet Love
07 Hellfire Club
08 Misery-Go-Round
09 Kansas Cornfields
10 You Can’t Slow The River Down
11 Topeka Twister
12 I’m Not Waiting ‘Round