Tony Rice – CD

by | 3 Jul, 2008

tonyriceNight Flier: The Singer Song Writer Collection
No other guitarist in the last thirty years has had a greater impact on acoustic music than Tony Rice. With his signature subtle touch, beautiful tone, amazing speed and imaginative phrasing, Rice has inspired guitarists far and wide for decades, as both a peerless lead player and the quintessential rhythm player. His inventive approach encompasses many acoustic music genres in addition to bluegrass, including jazz, blues, classical, folk, and swing, as is evident in his numerous solo and collaborative recordings. Twice nominated for a Grammy Award, he won for Best Country Instrumental Performance in 1983 as a member of The New South.

The new Rounder compilation, Night Flyer: The Singer-Songwriter Collection, due August 5, contains a broad selection of the music icon’s engaging vocal tunes taken from several of his albums – as well as three previously unreleased tracks – and demonstrates the wide range of non-bluegrass material that he incorporated into his signature sound.

Night Flyer: The Singer-Songwriter Collection kicks off with the previously unreleased Rice original Never Meant to Be, a venting of his feelings in the aftermath of the breakup of a long-term marriage with a sad, bitter tone that is completely real in its sense of unresolved hurt and anger. In addition, a version of Gordon Lightfoot’s Changes is found here, and opens with a sublime guitar intro, with perfect counterpoint by the Dobro of Jerry Douglas. Also included in this collection are Joni Mitchell’s Urge for Going, James Taylor’s Me and My Guitar, John Mayall’s Nightflyer, Bob Dylan’s Sweetheart Like You, and Tom Waits’ Pony.

Featured and accompanying musicians on this collection include Larry Atamanuik, Cole Burgess, Sam Bush, Kathy Chiavola, Vassar Clements, Jerry Douglas, Bela Fleck, Jimmy Gaudreau, Todd Phillips, Wyatt Rice, Mark Schatz, and Bill Wolf.