Rounder Artists Take Home IBMA Awards

by | 13 Oct, 2009

Rounder recording artists garnered multiple awards from the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) at the 20th Annual awards show held at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tennessee.

Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper won 5 awards including Instrumental Group of the Year, a category they have now won 3 years in a row. Cleveland picked up his 7th win for Fiddle Player of the Year, first time nominee and Flamekeeper member Jesse Brock won for Mandolin player of the year while another band member, Marshall Wilborn, won his first Bass Player of the Year award. Other big winners included Dailey & Vincent who walked away with 3 awards including coveted categories such as: Entertainer of the Year and Vocal Group of the Year and Dan Tyminski Band walked away with Male Vocalist of the Year (Dan Tyminski) and Album of the Year.

Bobby Osborne was inducted into the Hall of Fame as a member of the Lonesome Pine Fiddlers, an honor he has previously received as a member of the Osborne Brothers, and Blue Highway’s Rob Ickes received his 11th consecutive win for Dobro Player of the Year.