Railroad Town – Jr Williams

by | 13 Nov, 2022

Jr. Williams new video

Jr Williams New Album, Railroad Town, On Mountain Fever Records.

Kentucky-based bluegrass singer and multi-instrumentalist Jr Williams is out with a new album, Railroad Town, on Mountain Fever Records. This stellar new project is available for streaming and purchasing at your favorite music outlets.

Download or stream Railroad Town here.

Jr Williams Railroad TownThe album’s title is from the standout single and video release, Railroad Town Without a Train, written by Thomm Jutz and Tim Stafford featuring Jr’s distinctive vocals. This popular tune appeared on Bluegrass Unlimited Magazine’s National Bluegrass Survey Top 30 Song Chart and Bluegrass Today’s Monthly and Weekly Song charts. The song thoughtfully tells the story of what’s left behind when the railroad pulls out of town.

As a songwriter, there’s nothing quite like hearing others’ interpretations of your work for the first time. I was just blown away by Jr Williams’ version of Railroad Town Without a Train. Jr has been one of my favorite singers since I first heard him with NewFound Road years ago; a supple, versatile baritone with great character and range. Also, a fine banjo and guitar player, his musicianship as a whole is finally showcased on this fine recording. I, for one, hope there’s much more to come from Jr Williams, he’s the real deal! – Tm Stafford.

Other single releases from Railroad Town include the Don Williams classic, Lord, I Hope This Day Is Good, which charted numerous weeks on Bluegrass Today’s Top 30 Monthly and Weekly charts, and Jr.’s latest single, Can I Go Home With You.

Railroad Town tracks include:
1. Gonna Settle Down
2. Lord, I Hope This Day Is Good
3. I Feel The Blues Moving In
4. House Of Gold
5. Railroad Town Without A Train
6. Let Me Walk, Lord, By Your Side
7. Sledd Ridin’
8. For No Good Reason
9. Worried Man Blues
10. Can I Go Home With You

Jr Williams on lead vocals and banjo is joined on Railroad Town by Adam Steffey on mandolin, Aaron Ramsey on guitar, upright bass, mandolin, & harmony vocals on Lord, I Hope This Day Is Good, Jacob Burleson on guitar, Nathan Aldridge on fiddle, Jeff Partin on resophonic guitar, bass, & harmony vocals on Gonna Settle Down, Lord, I Hope This Day Is Good, House of Gold, and Railroad Town Without A Train, Amanda Cook on harmony vocals on I Feel The Blues Moving In, and Zach Arnold on harmony vocals on Worried Man Blues.

During his career, Jr has toured both as a sideman and with national touring bands such as NewFound Road and Newtown. Jr is now on tour with the Tim Shelton Syndicate. His live performances feature his gifted vocal and banjo talents, highlighted by his larger-than-life personality.