Nity Gritty Dirt Band – CD Release

by | 10 Jul, 2009

NGDBNitty Gritty Dirt Band – Speed of Life.

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band have finished work on their first studio album in five years titled Speed of Life and due for release on 22nd Sept. This iconic and profoundly influential group is often cited as the catalysts for an entire movement in country and roots music.

The Dirt Band’s website reports that the new album finds the band at their laid back, ramshackle best, eschewing the large collaboration approach here for a set of songs anchored by the remarkably deft musicianship, and diverse songwriting and vocal styles of the core band of Jeff Hanna, Jimmie Fadden, Bob Carpenter, and John McEuen.

Speed of Life features 13 tracks, including new tunes penned by the band (with help from a handful of friends) and two covers: the Woodstock classic Going Up The Country and Stuck In The Middle.