New Officers Appointed to IBMM

by | 29 Apr, 2015

IBMMThe International Bluegrass Music Museum Board of Trustees named four new officers and celebrated six members completing their terms of service during the annual April board meeting held in Owensboro, Kentucky.

Newly elected officers include Mike Simpson, Chairman; Terry Woodward, Vice-Chairman; Rosemary Conder, Secretary; and Chris Love, Treasurer.

Outgoing members (pictured right) are  L to R: Trustee, Larry Harrington, outgoing Chairman Dr. Peter Salovey, Executive Committee member, Gill Holland.

Six Board of Trustee members will rotate off of the board including current Chairman, Dr. Peter Salovey; Secretary, Terry Gold; Executive Committee member, Gill Holland and Trustees, Dr. Richard Brown, Larry Harrington and Jesse McReynolds.

IBMMOutgoing Chairman and President of Yale University, Dr. Peter Salovey commented about his time on the board saying, “It truly has been a privilege to serve as a Trustee of the International Bluegrass Music Museum for the past six years. For me, it has been a ‘labor of love’ as I have so enjoyed honouring the history of a musical genre that I have embraced since my teenage years. I am proud that we have come so far with the planning and fundraising for the new Centre. And it has been a pleasure making so many new friends through my IBMM board service. Owensboro has become a kind of second home, and I can’t wait to come back for ROMP in a couple of months.”

These new appointments come at a critical time, as ground breaking on the $15.3 million International Bluegrass Music Centre is set for this fall.

The IBMM Board of Trustees is made up of 20 individuals from all over the United States, as well as one member based in Norway. Board members provide leadership, guidance and support to the IBMM and its mission to gather, preserve, exhibit and disseminate artefacts, history, collections and performance art of the global history of bluegrass music.