New Members to IBMA Board

by | 13 Jun, 2020

The International Bluegrass Music Association has announced the election of new members to its Board of Directors and the election of its officers for the next twelve months. The following members were elected or reelected to serve a three-year term commencing on Wednesday, June 10, 2020:

Darin Aldridge – Artists, Composers, and Music Publishers (member elected)
Christine Funk – Merchandisers & Luthiers (member elected)
Carolyn Hotte – Bluegrass Music Associations (member elected)
Christopher Howard-Williams – International At Large (board appointed)
Andrea Roberts – At Large (member elected)
Mike Simpson – At Large (board appointed and reelected)

The Board of Directors elected the following as officers on its Executive Committee:

Board Chair – Ben Surratt
Board Vice-Chair – Daniel Boner
Treasurer – Mike Simpson
Secretary – Michelle Conceison
Additional Officer – Ashley Moyer

I’d like everyone to know how honoured I am to have the opportunity to serve IBMA as the Board Chair. I am grateful for the service of our outgoing chair, Joe Mullins, for the steadfast leadership he has provided us the last three years. While I’ve learned a lot looking over his shoulder, I know I have a big pair of shoes to fill, and I will be working hard to do just that. I look forward to working with our Executive Director, Paul Schiminger, and the IBMA staff – Eddie Huffman, Amy Beth Hale, Casey Campbell, and Ethan Charles – to serve our membership and create opportunities for our bluegrass industry – Ben Surratt.

The board and staff of the IBMA, along with all of its members, have extended their thanks to the following outgoing board members for their outstanding service and contributions to the association and the entire bluegrass music community; acknowledging that as volunteers, they have given considerable time and effort in their service, and did so at their own expense to attend meetings and gatherings.

Jeremy Darrow
Jamie Deering
Regina Derzon
Silvio Ferretti
Stephen Mougin

Finally the IBMA extends a special acknowledgement and thanks to Joe Mullins and Regina Derzon. Joe served as Board Chair for the maximum three years allowed, and his strong leadership helped guide the association to advance its mission and impact the bluegrass community in many positive ways. Joe remains on the board as an At Large member for one remaining year in his final term. Regina served as Board Secretary six years, demonstrating an incredible attention to detail and institutional knowledge in her valuable role – IBMA Board.