National Arts Medal for Ricky Skaggs

by | 27 Jan, 2021

Skaggs Medal

On 13 January this year, Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame member Ricky Skaggs received the National Medal of Arts. This honour is bestowed on a select few individuals for their artistic achievements and contributions to American arts and culture.

A winner of 15 Grammy awards, Ricky Skaggs infuses his bluegrass and traditional country music roots into the contemporary Nashville sound – National Endowment for the Arts.

Other 2020 honorees included Mary Costa, Toby Keith, Earl (Rusty) A. Powell III, and Nick Ut.

Fellow recipients in the bluegrass genre include Alison Krauss (2019), Dr. Ralph Stanley (2006), Dolly Parton (2005), Doc Watson (1997), Bill Monroe (1995), and Earl Scruggs, (1992), among others.

The awards were presented by President Trump at a White House ceremony on January 13, 2021.

The National Medal of Arts is a White House program administered in part by the National Endowment for the Arts. The Arts Endowment accepts nominations for the medal from the public through its website. Along with nominations that members of its advisory body, the National Council on the Arts, may include, the Arts Endowment submits those nominations to the president for consideration. The president may choose his own medal recipients as selection is determined solely by the president.

To see the list of past National Medal of Arts recipients, click here, or more information, visit the National Endowment for the Arts website.