Mark Kuykendall, Bobby Hicks – Forever And a Day

by | 8 Jul, 2017

Bobby Hicks, Mark Kuykendall

Forever And a DayThe new release from Mark Kuykendall, Bobby Hicks & Asheville Bluegrass which we wrote about last month is now available.

Mark Kuykendall and Bobby Hicks are bluegrass veterans who have a combined 110 years of professional experience between them. By the age of 14, Mark Kuykendall had already played on the world famous Grand Ole Opry and had performed and recorded with many of his Western North Carolina heroes including Raymond Fairchild, Ralph Lewis, Marc Pruett and others. He went on to work with the King of Bluegrass, Jimmy Martin, and the Father of Bluegrass, Bill Monroe.

Bobby Hicks needs no introduction to the bluegrass community—he is a legendary fiddler who began a celebrated career as one of Monroe’s finest band members and, as a young Blue Grass Boy, took part in many of Monroe’s classic twin fiddle and triple fiddle instrumentals. Hicks would later go on to play with Porter Wagoner, Mel Tillis and Ricky Skaggs (performing on Skaggs’ most successful recordings and winning 10 Grammy Awards along the way).

Bobby and I had a real fun time making this record. There are two new originals by me, a new fiddle tune by Bobby and a few overlooked gems, (such as) Journey’s End by Ernest Tubb and Remember Me by Lulu Belle & Scotty for instance. …these were favourites of ours growing up and songs we wanted to include on the album – Mark Kuykendall.

The talented members of Asheville Bluegrass are integral to the band’s overall sound. Seth Rhinehart plays banjo with an intuitive understanding of the music. His tone, rhythm and taste are impeccable whether on backup or lead, and his versatile touch can adapt to accommodate any type of material. Mike Hunter’s experience playing mandolin with Jimmy Martin and other bluegrass pros leaves him well primed to handle the subtleties required to meld with a band of this calibre. He picks with a smooth, straightforward approach and flawless timing. Bass player and vocalist Nick Dauphinais brings a playful and deliberate style to the group. His tenor singing is an equally important component contributing to the band’s overall effectiveness.

Forever And A Day is available at County Sales, iTunes, Amazon or wherever fine bluegrass music is sold.

The Album Tracks are:

1. Roust-A-Bout
2. I Don’t Have The Want To Anymore
3. Remember Me
4. I’ll Follow Jesus
5. Ashokan Farewell
6. We Live in Two Different Worlds
7. Zuma Swing
8. Journey’s End
9. Forever and a Day
10. Mary Jane, Won’t You Be Mine
11. In His Arms I’m Not Afraid
12. They’ll Never Take Her Love From Me
13. Sally, Don’t You Grieve
14. Wicked Path of Sin