Lonesome River Band Still Learning

by | 9 Oct, 2010

Still Learning – Rural Rhythm Records

In January this year we learned that LRB were in the studio recording a new CD. In July this year we announced its release, and this month we can testify as to how good this CD is.

Sammy Shelor and his banjo have been synonymous with the name Lonesome River Band and musically, this album does not venture too far from the classic LRB sound of the past. This new line up is as tight as LRB have ever been. Brandon Rickman (guitar) and Andy Ball (mandolin) provides a great lead vocal sound with support harmonies from Mike Anglin (bass) and Sammy Shelor (banjo). Then add the amazing Mike Hartgrove on fiddle and you have the complete trademark LRB sound.

There are no disappointments in this album, a bit of country, a few ballads, some Gospel and lots of hard-driving bluegrass with Brandon Rickman receiving writing credits on 3 of the 13 tracks. This is well worth adding to your collection.

Production credits go to Lonesome River Band while engineering is shared by Sammy Shelor and Mark Hodges and released by Rural Rhythm Records.

Track List:

  • Record Time Machine (Marvin E. Clark)
  • Goodbye Wheeling (Mel Tillis)
  • I’m Still Learning (Rickman/Salley)
  • Jack up the Jail (Daniel Salyer)
  • Telling Me You Love Me Again (Marvin E. Clark)
  • Forty Days in the Desert (Rickman/Salley)
  • Any Ole Time (Kevin Denney)
  • Don’t Cry Blue (Malcolm McKinney)
  • As Wild as I can Get (Rickman/Denney)
  • High Lonesome (Terry McBride)
  • Red Bandana (Merle Haggard)
  • I’ve Seen the Blues (Ashby Frank)
  • Pretty Little Girl (Public Domain)