Lead Nominations for 2012 IBMA

by | 16 Aug, 2012

Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out, Alison Krauss & Union Station, Blue Highway & The Boxcars, Lead The Nominations For 2012 International Bluegrass Music Awards

Nominees for the 2012 International Bluegrass Music Awards were announced today at a press conference at Nashville’s Loveless Barn, and perennial favorites Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out led the pack with nominations in nine categories as a band and for individual members. They’re followed by Alison Krauss & Union Station with eight nominations, and Blue Highway and The Boxcars with seven nominations each.

Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out captured nominations for Entertainer of the Year and Vocal Group, as well as for Instrumental Performance (their delivery of the classic fiddle tune “Carroll County Blues”) and Song of the Year (“Pretty Little Girl From Galax,” written by Milan Miller). Both tunes are from this year’s Prime Tyme, the band’s 15th release, nominated for Album of the Year. Wayne Benson earned a nomination for Mandolin Player of the Year, and Moore received a nomination for Male Vocalist, an award he won in 1994, 1997, 2010, and 2011. Moore also received nominations for Gospel Recorded Performance and Recorded Event of the Year for “Beyond The Sunset,” a Doyle Lawson a cappella showstopper he recorded live with Lawson, Jamie Dailey and Josh Swift. The tune appeared on this year’s Life Goes On (Rural Rhythm)the star-studded collection of tunes culled from Musicians Against Childhood Cancer festivals over a six-year period.

Individually and as an ensemble, members of Alison Krauss & Union Station received eight nominations, including Entertainer of the Year, Song of the Year (for the band’s cover of Peter Rowan’s “Dust Bowl Children”) and Album of the Year (for its self-producedPaper Airplane on Rounder Records). Krauss and Dan Tyminski earned nominations for Female and Male Vocalist of the Year, and instrumental nominations also went to Ron Block (Banjo), Jerry Douglas (Dobro), and Barry Bales (Bass).

In the wake of its new release Sounds of Home on Rounder RecordsBlue Highway has earned seven nominations, including nods for Vocal and Instrumental Group of the Year. The recording itself was nominated for Album of the Year, and its title track, written by Shawn Lane, for Song of the Year. The band also won a nomination for Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year for its blistering delivery of Jason Burleson’s “Roaring Creek.” Rob Ickes, reigning Dobro Player of the Year since 2006 and recipient of that award an extraordinary 13 times over the years, was nominated for it once again, as well as for his performance with the Tony Rice Unit on a live version of “Manzanita,” which appeared on the Life Goes On project.

After taking home last year’s award for Emerging Artist of the Year, The Boxcars received a total of seven group and individual nominations for the 2012 awards. They were nominated for Instrumental Group; Album of the Year (All In, self-produced for Mountain Home); and Instrumental Performance (“That’s What She Said” by Adam Steffey, songwriter). Instrumentally, they earned nominations for Banjo Player and Fiddle Player (Ron Stewart, still the only musician in IBMA history to have won previous awards for his prowess on both instruments) and Mandolin Player (Adam Steffey). Stewart also received a nomination for Recorded Event of the Year for Life Goes On.

Awards are voted on by the professional membership of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), the trade association for the bluegrass music industry. Results of the balloting will be revealed at the International Bluegrass Music Awards at Nashville’s legendary Ryman Auditorium on Thursday, September 27, 2012. The Awards Show is the centerpiece of World of Bluegrass Week, to be held September 24 – 30 in Nashville, which also includes the IBMA Business Conference and Bluegrass Fan Fest.

The IBMA Awards Show will be broadcast live from the stage of the historic Ryman Theater on Sirius XM Satellite Radio (Bluegrass Junction, Channel 14) and syndicated to more than 300 U.S. markets and 14 foreign networks, thanks to the sponsorship of Compass Records, ArtistWorks Academy of Bluegrass, Deering Banjos, BMI, the International Bluegrass Music Museum, BluegrassToday.com and 650 WSM AM. Program directors and station managers may sign up to be affiliates online at www.ibma.org.

For more information on World of Bluegrass, including tickets to the International Bluegrass Music Awards, visit www.ibma.org, join IBMA’s Facebook group, or call 615-256-3222 (888-GET-IBMA). Tickets are on sale now at the website and at the phone number listed above.