Laurie Lewis Skippin’ and Flyin’

by | 13 Oct, 2011

Laurie LewisLaurie Lewis has announced the release of her new CD, Skippin’ and Flyin’. This album is released as a tribute to the Bill Monroe on the occasion of his 100th birthday. While it does contain some of Bill Monroe’s songs, it is really inspired by his example to mix up old-time, early country, contemporary sources, and his own writing to create something at once personal and steeped in “the ancient tones.”

The new album features Tom Rozum on mandolin, Craig Smith and Patrick Sauber on banjo, Todd Phillips and Andrew Conklin onĀ  bass, Chad Manning on fiddle, Scott Huffman on guitar, Orville Johnson on Dobro, and Kathy Kallick, Dale Ann Bradley, Nadine Landry, and Linda Ronstadt on vocals.

The official release date is 18th Oct 2011. Fans can order an advance copy from her website or from the label’s website very, very soon.

Here’s a list of the 14 tracks:

  1. Old Ten Broeck (traditional, arr. L. Lewis)
  2. What’s Good For You Should be Alright for Me (V. Claud, J. Organ)
  3. The Pharaoh’s Daughter (L. Lewis)
  4. Hartfordtown 1944 (Mark Erelli)
  5. Tuck Away My Lonesome Blues (Jimmie Rodgers)
  6. I Don’t Care Anymore (Tompall Glaser)
  7. A Lonesome Road (Joe Stuart)
  8. Dreams (Del McCoury)
  9. American Chestnuts (L. Lewis)
  10. Carter’s Blues (Maybelle Carter)
  11. Fair Beauty Bright (traditional, arr, L. Lewis)
  12. Blue Moon of Kentucky (Bill Monroe)
  13. I Ain’t Gonna Work Tomorrow (traditional)
  14. Going Away (Utah Phillips)