IBMA Scholarship

by | 5 Jul, 2011

IBMA Bluegrass Scholarship Prize.

The International Bluegrass Music Association has announced the first annual IBMA Bluegrass Scholarship Prize.  A cash award of $100 will be announced at the IBMA Award Ceremony, and presented to the developing scholar who presents the best paper on an aspect of bluegrass music at a juried academic conference within the time frame of January 2010- July 2011.  Developing academic scholars are graduate students in MA or Ph.D. programs, or individuals whose advanced degree was conferred within the last five years.

Papers to be considered should be submitted in an accepted academic style (e.g. MLA or Chicago), with complete references and other apparatus as appropriate.  Submissions will be evaluated on the basis of sound scholarship, clarity of writing, and overall contribution to the understanding of bluegrass music. The 2010-2011 committee is Erika Brady Ph.D., chair (Western Kentucky University), Michelle Kisliuk  Ph.D.(University of Virginia), and Kevin Kehrberg Ph.D. (Warren Wilson College).

Submit submissions to the committee accompanied by a 2-page vita and a letter of support from an academic colleague.  Materials can be sent electronically to er*********@wk*.edu">er*********@wk*.edu, or by USPS at:

Erika Brady
Department of Folklore and Anthropology
Western Kentucky University
1906  College Heights Blvd. #61029
Bowling Green, KY 42101-1029

Deadline for submissions is 22nd July, 2011.
The committee’s decision will be communicated to submitters on or about 19th August.