Hunter & Suzy Owens – Heartsongs

by | 5 Jan, 2013 | 1 comment

HeartsongsHeartsongs is a collection of songs written by Hunter and Suzy Owens from Sydney. I first listened to this album without reading any of the liner notes and was struck by the authenticity of the lyrics and quality of melody. I had to check the notes to see who had written these wonderful sounding old-time songs only to discover that Hunter and Suzy had written them all.

This is a wonderful album of great old-time music featuring several moving country ballads and some fast paced bluegrass picking written by two great story tellers.

Hunter & Suzy Owens

The CD was produced by Hunter and Suzy Owens, engineered by Gary Brown and created in Australia. It was originally released in 2010 and features guest artists, Nigel Lever on mandolin and harmony vocals; Dave Helens on banjo; Kat Mear on fiddle and Gary Brown on Dobro with Hunter Owens on guitar and lead vocals and Suzy Owens on bass and harmony vocals.

If you have not had the pleasure to hear or see Hunter and Suzy Owens, then here’s an opportunity to her some wonderful music weaved into some great story telling from their album Heartsongs.

Track List:

1. Heartache Blues
2. My Valley Home
3. Ellie Mae
4. Damned If I Do, Damned If I Don’t
5. The Hills Of Old Virginia
6. Golden Dreams
7. Nelson County Flood
8. True Love Is Like Gold
9. Could It Be Your Heart
10. Cottonmouth Creek
11.Faded Photograph
12. Don’t Go Away
13. Leave Me To Pine
14. The Gun And The Bible
15. All Bound For Glory
16. Ruby’s Farewell

1 Comment

  1. Jill Earnshaw

    I love this CD it’s one of my favorites, they have great voices.
    Missed them at Harrietville in 2012.