Hot Rize – 2009 IBMA Hosts

by | 23 Jul, 2009

IBMA-LogoThe legendary bluegrass band, Hot Rize will co-host the 20th annual International Bluegrass Music Awards along with Grammy®-winning country artist Kathy Mattea. The awards show will be held on Thu, 1st October, at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium.

The members of Hot Rize have a long association with IBMA. They took home the Entertainer of the Year trophy at the very first International Bluegrass Music Awards back in 1990. Pete “Dr. Banjo” Wernick served as president of IBMA from 1986-2001. Tim O’Brien, who followed as president from 2001-2004, was also named Male Vocalist of the Year in 1993 and 2006. Bryan Sutton received the IBMA award for Guitar Player of the Year in 2000, and then every year from 2003-2006. The entire group, including bass player/ renowned public radio e-town host Nick Forster, took top honors for Song of the Year in 1991, for their performance of Colleen Malone.

Kathy Mattea and Hot Rize are a perfect fit as our hosts.  With their long musical history, the chemistry between them gives us the elements for a fun show -  IBMA co-producer Cindy Baucom.