Hill Country Re-released by Rounder Records

by | 22 Sep, 2008

Long unavailable, the legacy of Tony Trischka’s 1985 album Hill Country has been kept alive by musicians and fans via carefully guarded vinyl pressings and cassette dubs. On October 21 Rounder Records will release the highly anticipated re-mastered edition, complete with extensive new notes and a bonus track, restoring to print a pivotal piece of bluegrass history.

By investigating his roots in the tradition, maverick banjo virtuoso Tony Trischka crafted an album that revealed limitless potential for innovation within the boundaries of classic bluegrass and inspiring all those who heard it.

Featured performers include Sam Bush, Dudley Connell, Jerry Douglas, Bela Fleck, Del McCoury, Jerry McCoury, Ronnie McCoury, Mark O’Connor, Sonny Osborne, Tony Rice, Eddie Stubbs, and more.

In support of Double Banjo Bluegrass Spectacular, Trischka performed on The Late Show with David Letterman, The Ellen DeGeneres Show and Live with Regis & Kelly.

Track listing for Hill Country:
1. Brandy Station
2. Sunny Days
3. Bloozinee
4. Crossville Breakdown
5. Looking for the Light
6. Hill Country
7. New York Chimes
8. Flat Gap
9. Strawberry Plains
10. Mississippi Sawyer
11. Stop Action
12. Crosseyed Cricket
Bonus Track:
13. Buffalo Creek
Posted by Rounder Records
Photo Credit
Angelika Rinnhofer 2005