Distinguished Achievement Award For IBMM

by | 14 Aug, 2015


IBMMThe International Bluegrass Music Museum has been announced as a recipient of the International Bluegrass Music Association’s 2015 Distinguished Achievement Award.

The announcement was made during the nominee show for the 26th Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards on SiriusXM’s Bluegrass Junction channel, hosted by radio personality and Bluegrass Museum trustee, Kyle Cantrell.

The Distinguished Achievement Award is second only to induction into the [IBMA] Hall of Fame – Kyle Cantrell.

IBMA’s Distinguished Achievement Award program exists to honor those in bluegrass music who have proven to be forerunners in their particular field of endeavour, and/or fostered bluegrass music’s image with developments that will broaden the music’s recognition and accessibility.

Also receiving the 2015 Distinguished Achievement award are Alison Brown, Murphy Henry, “Bashful Brother” Oswald Kirby, and Steve Martin.

Past award winners include IBMM Vice-Chairman, Terry Woodward, Deering Banjos, Tom T. and Dixie Hall, The Grand Ole Opry, Martin Guitars, Keith Case, Fred Bartenstein and many other distinguished Bluegrass music names.

Staff and trustees of the Museum will accept the award during IBMA’s World of Bluegrass in Raleigh, NC on October 1.