Chronology Released by Lonesome River Band

by | 29 Feb, 2012


LRB-ChronologyRural Rhythm Records has announced today’s new album release, Chronology, Volume One by the U.S.A. award-winning Lonesome River Band.  The album is the first of three 8 song EPS releasing this year commemorating the band’s thirty year milestone.

The CHRONOLOGY series features updated versions of many of the Lonesome River Band’s most popular songs during each decade with the talents of Virginia Country Music Hall of Famer and four-time IBMA Banjo Player of the Year, Sammy Shelor (Banjo); Brandon Rickman (Harmony Vocal, Guitar); Mike Hartgrove (Fiddle); Barry Reed (Harmony Vocal, Bass); and Randy Jones (Lead Vocal, Mandolin). Chronology, Volume One was produced by Lonesome River Band and includes the tracks:

1.       Close the Door Lightly When You Go (E. Anderson) – first single release
2.       The Old Man In the Shanty (John Michael Green)
3.       Laura Jean (Jim Burns)
4.       The Game Is Over (David Carroll)
5.       Mary Ann (Johnny Stills, Lonnie Treat)
6.       I’m Afraid To Love You Anymore (Jimmie Skinner)
7.       Hobo Blues (Billy Smith)
8.       Angeline The Baker (instrumental)

Lonesome River Band has done what few bands have done, continuously reinvented itself through the years, staying both popular and relevant – Keith Lawrence Owensboro Messenger-Inquirer and Bluegrass Notes Reviewer.

U.S. Fans can tune into WSM Radio today at 9:00 AM (Central) when host Bill Cody welcomes Sammy Shelor and Brandon Rickman to the show. On Wednesday Shelor will be appear on with host Terry Poirier at 10:30 AM (Eastern) and later in the day with live in-studio interview with hosts Jay Allen and Sherry Boyd on WBRF Radio in Galax, Virginia at 8:00 PM.

Lonesome River Band has two previous #1 albums on Rural Rhythm, Still Learning and No Turning Back, that topped album and single charts such as Bluegrass Unlimited Magazine, Bluegrass Music Profiles Magazine, Cashbox Magazine, Power Source Magazine, Roots Music Report Top 50 Bluegrass, SiriusXM Bluegrass Junction Most Played Tracks and Most Played Artists, and many more. LRB were also involved in two live album projects for the label including: the recently released A Bill Monroe 100th Year Celebration – Live at Bean Blossom, produced by Sammy Shelor; plus The All-Star Jam – Live at Graves Mountian, produced by Mark Newton, that received four 2010 International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) award nominations including one for Album of The Year.

In November 2011, the Lonesome River Band with special guest, Steve Martin performed on The Late Show with David Letterman celebrating Sammy Shelor’s award for The Steve Martin Prize for Excellence in Banjo and Bluegrass.  Martin and Shelor sat down with the late night host who proudly displayed the award followed by an incredible performance of “Molly” (No Turning Back) by band members, Brandon Rickman on lead vocals and guitar, Mike Hartgrove on fiddle, Barry Reed on bass and harmony vocals, Randy Jones on mandolin and harmony vocals, along with Steve Martin and Sammy Shelor on banjo.

Rural Rhythm advises that LRB are also planning two further additions to the Chronology series with Volumes Two and Three. They are also planning a big event celebration scheduled for later this year. For more information visit the Lonesome River Band website.