Awards For Lonesome River Band

by | 5 Oct, 2012

Lonesome River Band’s landmark 30th Anniversary was cause for even greater celebration last week when the band won the 2012 International Bluegrass Music Association’s (IBMA) Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year Award during the 2012 IBMA Awards Show held at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tennessee.  Band leader Sammy Shelor was already on stage as a Presenter with bluegrass artist, Junior Sisk where the pair announced the winner. Lonesome River Band’s members, Brandon Rickman, Mike Hartgrove, Barry Reed and Randy Jones joined Sammy on stage to accept the honor.

Sammy and Brandon have released an additional “thank you video” on their YouTube Channel. See below:



Sammy Shelor took home his fifth award as the IBMA Banjo Performer of the Year.  He also participated in an incredible all-star finale, led by last year’s Entertainer of the Year recipient Steve Martin. Shelor, who won last year’s Steve Martin’s Prize for Excellence in Banjo and Bluegrass, joined some of the top banjo players in a tribute to the late Earl Scruggs.  This memorable tribute included the all-star line-up of: Tom Adams, Eddie Adcock, Jessie Baker, Terry Baucom, Sam Bush, Kristin Scott Benson, Alison Brown, Jason Burleson, Greg Cahill, Jason Carter, J.D.Crowe, Jason Davis, Joe Dean, Steve Dilling, Glenn Gibson, Eric Gibson, Mark Johnson, Doyle Lawson, Laurie Lewis, Del McCoury, Rob McCoury, Lynn Morris, Joe Mullins, Mike Munford, Chris Pandolfi, Graham Sharp, Sammy Shelor, Sleepy Man Banjo Boys (Jonny, Robbie & Tommy Mizzone), Ron Stewart, Mike Sumner, Tony Trischka, Scott Vestal, Pete Wernick, and Roland White.