Allstar 2010 Line-up for IBMA

by | 22 Sep, 2010

While so many of us will not be there in Nashville next week, here’s a media release this week from IBMA headquarters to give us an opportunity to read up on what we’ll all miss:

The bluegrass world is set to gather on 30th September for the 2010 International Bluegrass Music Awards, recognizing the year’s most outstanding accomplishments in 17 categories and honoring two pioneers for their groundbreaking influence. The star-studded evening will feature a stellar cast of performers and exciting collaborations to delight audiences and celebrate bluegrass worldwide.

Fans can look forward to a dozen performances including reigning Entertainers of the Year Dailey & Vincent; the father of newgrass Sam Bush; bluegrass songbird Claire Lynch; powerhouse vocalist Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out; the legendary Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver; and nine-time Entertainers of the Year, The Del McCoury Band. That alone could satisfy the appetite of even the hungriest of fans, but the IBMA Awards are known for delivering some special collaborations.

The evening will also feature musical tributes to Hall of Fame inductees John Hartford and Louise Scruggs.

Two gentlemen, who between them, hold eight Guitar Player of the Year trophies, Josh Williams and Tony Rice, will perform together. Awards show hosts, Grand Ole Opry stars Sharon & Cheryl White and genre-bending Dobro stylist Jerry Douglas, will team up with four-time Female and Male Vocalists of the Year Alison Krauss and Dan Tyminski. The man who has dominated the Billboard Bluegrass Albums Chart all summer, Dierks Bentley, will perform with a band of nominees and past recipients, while Blue Highway will include guest Darrell Scott in their part of the show.

The evening will also feature musical tributes to Hall of Fame inductees John Hartford and Louise Scruggs, including a performance by Earl Scruggs with his sons, Gary and Randy.

Whether enjoying the show live at the historic Ryman Auditorium or tuning in via radio, fans will also enjoy award presentations by their favorite stars and the anticipation of hearing who walks away with the most coveted awards in bluegrass music.

The 21st International Bluegrass Music Awards, scheduled for 7:30 p.m. Central on 30th September, will be broadcast live on Sirius XM Satellite Radio (Bluegrass Junction, Channel 14) and syndicated to more than 300 U.S. markets and 14 foreign networks thanks to the sponsorship of Martha White, GHS Strings, Sugar Hill Records, Deering Banjos, Compass Records and the International Bluegrass Music Museum.  Program directors and station managers may sign up to be affiliates online at

The International Bluegrass Music Awards are voted on by the professional membership of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), which serves as the trade association for the bluegrass music industry. The IBMA Awards Show is the centerpiece of the World of Bluegrass week, including the industry’s Business Conference and Bluegrass Fan Fest, which will take place from 27th September to 3rd October this year in Nashville Tennessee.