The Churchmen CD Release

by | 9 Nov, 2008

churchmenThe Churchmen release I’ll Be Long Gone on Pinecastle Records.
The Churchmen’s new project, I’ll Be Long Gone, was produced by Dale Perry at Lakeside Studios. The new band configuration, as reflected on the album, consist of Keith Clark, Freddy Rakes, Gerald Harbour and new members David Guthrie and Tim Scott. Guest performers on I’ll Be Long Gone include Dale Perry on banjo and David Coffey on dobro.

I’ll Be Long Gone features seven original tunes written by band member David Guthrie, along with Jason Barie, Rick Pardue, and Josh Manning. David penned four of the originals with Jason, Rick, and Josh, each contributing to one song. The remaining songs are bluegrass gospel standards or remakes with a new twist.

The group was formed in 1989 when they began singing in local churches. Their southern gospel style, four part harmony, along with the sound of the bluegrass instrumentation, give them a unique sound that has gained attention all across the country.

The Churchmen have had multiple nominations for Gospel Group of the Year by SPBGMA and played at the Ryman Theater on the Bluegrass Now Fan’s Choice Awards. The Churchmen were nominated for a DOVE Award in 2004 for Bluegrass Album of the Year as well as a nomination for the Dove Award’s Bluegrass Song of the Year for, Bedside Prayer, from Traveling Through in 2007. Their single, Get Onboard, remained on Bluegrass Now’s Gospel Truths chart for over two years.

Additional reading The Churchmen Website
Submitted by Pinecastle Records