2020 IBMA Industry Awards

by | 3 Oct, 2020

IBMA Awards

The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) has announced the recipients of the 2020 Industry Awards, awarded today as part of this week’s IBMA Virtual World of Bluegrass.

The 2020 Industry Awards, hosted this year by Bela Fleck and Abigail Washburn, and sponsored by Homespun Music Instruction, recognize outstanding work in categories including Broadcaster of the Year, Event of the Year, Graphic Designer of the Year, Liner Notes of the Year, Writer of the Year, Sound Engineer of the Year, and Songwriter of the Year.

    • Broadcaster of the Year – Michael Kear
    • Event of the Year – Augusta Heritage Center Bluegrass Week, Elkins, WV
    • Graphic Designer of the Year – Michael Armistead
    • Writer of the Year – Derek Halsey
  • Sound Engineer of the Year – Stephen Mougin
  • Songwriter of the Year – Milan Miller
  • Liner Notes of the Year – Katy Daley, Live at the Cellar Door – The Seldom Scene

Additionally, the show featured a segment honoring the recipients of the 2020 Distinguished Achievement Awards: festival pioneers Norman & Judy Adams, “Musicians Against Childhood Cancer” (MACC) founders Darrel & Phyllis Adkins, fiddle virtuoso/educator Darol Anger, San Diego’s KSON “Bluegrass Special” host Wayne Rice, and bluegrass innovator Jack Tottle.

About IBMA:

IBMA – the International Bluegrass Music Association – is the nonprofit professional organization for the global bluegrass music community. The organization’s successful run in Raleigh is the product of their partnership with The Greater Raleigh Convention and Visitors Bureau, The Raleigh Convention Center, PineCone—The Piedmont Council of Traditional Music, the City of Raleigh and a local organizing committee.