2013 IBMA Winners

IBMAThis is a list of the 2013 winners of International Bluegrass Music Awards.

Entertainer Of The Year – The Gibson Brothers

Vocal Group Of The Year – The Gibson Brothers

Instrumental Group Of The Year – The Boxcars

Song Of The Year – “They Called It Music,” The Gibson Brothers, Written By Eric Gibson & Joe Newberry

Album Of The Year – “Papertown,” Balsam Range, Produced By Balsam Range, Mountain Home

Gospel Recorded Performance Of The Year – “Beulah Land,” Marty Raybon, Written By Squire Parsons, Produced By Marty Raybon, Rural Rhythm

Instrumental Recorded Performance Of The Year – “Foggy Mountain Rock,” Tom Adams, Ron Block, J.D. Crowe, Charlie Cushman, Kenny Ingram, Jim Mills, Joe Mullins, Larry Perkins, Craig Smith, Ron Stewart, David Talbot & Tony Trischka, Written By Louise Certain & Gladys Stacey, Produced By Tim Austin, Rounder Records.

Recorded Event Of The Year – “What’ll I Do;” Terry Baucom With Sam Bush, Jerry Douglas, Wyatt Rice, Steve Bryant & Buddy Melton; Produced By Terry Baucom, Cindy Baucom And Ed Lowe; John Boy & Billy Label.

Emerging Artist Of The Year – Della Mae

Male Vocalist Of The Year – Junior Sisk

Female Vocalist Of The Year – Claire Lynch

Instrumental Performers Of The Year

  • Banjo – Mike Munford
  • Bass – Barry Bales
  • Fiddle – Jason Carter
  • Dobro – Rob Ickes
  • Guitar – Bryan Sutton
  • Mandolin – Adam Steffey

Hall Of Fame Inductees

  • Paul Warren
  • Tony Rice

Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients

  • Keith Case
  • The East Mountain Boys
  • Vic Jordan
  • The Mclain Family Band
  • Charley Pennell

2013 International Bluegrass Music Special Award Winners

Best Graphic Design For A Recorded Project: Carl Jackson, Dak Alley, Jimmy Mets For “Grace Notes” By Carl Jackson

Best Liner Notes For A Recorded Project: Fred Bartenstein For Joe Mullins And The Radio Ramblers’s ‘They’re Playing My Song’

Bluegrass Print Media Person Of The Year: Fred Bartenstein

Bluegrass Broadcaster Of The Year: Ronnie Reno

Bluegrass Songwriter Of The Year: Eric Gibson

Bluegrass Event Of The Year: Bill Monroe Bean Blossom Bluegrass Festival In Bean Blossom, Indiana.

Momentum Awards Recipients:


  • Industry Involvement Of The Year: Danny Clark
  • New Festival Or Venue Of The Year: Bluegrass On The Plains
  • Mentor Of The Year: Denise Stiff


  • Instrumentalist Of The Year: Chris Luquette
  • Vocalist Of The Year: Robert Greer
  • Band Of The Year: Town Mountain


Our Archives