2010 National Bluegrass Champions

by | 29 Jan, 2010

Submitted by Lachie Davidson

The 2010 CMAA Australian National Bluegrass Championships were held on Sunday, 24th January at 11:00am at Wests’ Diggers during the annual 10 day Tamworth Country Music Festival.
The Bluegrass Championships staring out in 1979 as part of the Tamworth festival, and  were reinstated in 2008 after a nine year absence. With the assistance of Rod McCormack, the CMAA and Fender Australia donating the prizes, we can look forward to the growth of Bluegrass in Australia and more young players coming to the forefront.

The championships have always attracted great crowds and over the years it has been a platform for young musicians to be noticed and compete for the titles. Previous winners have gone on to win Golden Guitars, tour with major touring acts in Australia and overseas and even become finalists in the Grammy Awards.

2010 Bluegrass Championship Winners:

Mandolin – Lachlan Davidson
Guitar – Rob Long
Fiddle – George Jackson
Banjo – George Jackson
Encouragement Award – Peter Cooper