2010 IBMA Award Receipients

by | 2 Oct, 2010

This week the  International Bluegrass Music Association staged their annual awards night at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tennessee.

This is annual event was the 21st anniversary of the awards show hosted by IBMA and featurig a range of presenters including Australia’s Davidson Brothers.

The 2010 IBMA Award list is as follows.

Bluegrass Hall of Fame Inductees:

  • John Hartford
  • Louise Scruggs
Album of the Year:

  • Dailey & Vincent Sing The Statler Brothers; Dailey & Vincent (artists & producers); Cracker Barrel/Rounder
Entertainer of the Year:

  • Dailey & Vincent
Male Vocalist of the Year:

  • Russell Moore
Vocal Group of the Year:

  • Dailey & Vincent
Instrumental Group of the Year:

  • Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper
Female Vocalist of the Year:

  • Claire Lynch
Emerging Artist of the Year:

  • Josh Williams Band
Song of the Year:

  • Ring The Bell, The Gibson Brothers (artists), Chet O’Keefe (songwriter)
Recorded Event of the Year:

  • Give This Message To Your Heart, Larry Stephenson featuring Dailey & Vincent (artists), Ben Surratt & Larry Stephenson (producers), Whysper Dream
Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year:

  • Durang’s Hornpipe by Adam Steffey (artist), Barry Bales & Gary Paczosa (producers)
Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year:

  • Ring The Bell, The Gibson Brothers (artists & producers), Chet O’Keefe (songwriter), Compass Records
Instrumental Performers of the Year:

  • Banjo – Kristin Scott Benson
  • Bass – Marshall Wilborn
  • Fiddle – Michael Cleveland
  • Dobro – Rob Ickes
  • Guitar – Josh Williams
  • Mandolin – Adam Steffey
Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients:

  • Benjamin “Tex” Logan
  • Sherry Boyd
  • Lynn Morris
  • Richard Weize
  • Pete Wernick
Bluegrass Broadcaster of the Year:

  • Kyle Cantrell; Sirius XM Satellite Radio
Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project:

  • Dr. Ted Olson (writer), Appalachia Music from Home, Various Artists, Lonesome Records (label)
Print Media Person of the Year:

  • Eddie Dean & Dr. Ralph Stanley, authors of Man of Constant Sorrow: My Life and Times (Gotham Books)
Bluegrass Event of the Year Award:

  • 14th Annual Podunk Bluegrass Music Festival; East Hartford, CT
Best Graphic Design for a Recorded Project:

  • Julie Craig, Cracker Barrel (designer); Dailey & Vincent; Dailey & Vincent Sing The Statler Brothers; Cracker Barrel/Rounder (label)