2009 inductees to IBMA Hall of Fame

by | 3 Oct, 2009

IBMA has announced two inductees to the International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame for 2009. They are The Lonesome Pine Fiddlers, the legendary string band formed in 1937 by Ezra Cline in West Virginia and The Dillards, the influential band from Salem, Missouri, known for their popular appearances on The Andy Griffith Show and for blazing a trail on the 1960s West Coast music scene for progressive bluegrass bands.

One of the earliest bluegrass groups, The Lonesome Pine Fiddlers left a legacy of some of the finest examples of intense, raw-edged music ever recorded, including original songs like I’m Left Alone, Nobody Cares (Not Even You), Twenty-One Years, My Brown Eyed Darling and Dirty Dishes Blues. Founded in West Virginia in 1937 by Ezra Cline, the initial band included his cousins Curly Ray and Ireland Lazy Ned, along with Gordon Jennings. Over the years the group weathered a number of personnel changes, performing a variety of music ranging from old-time to bluegrass and country.

After a hiatus during World War II where Ned was killed in action, the band resumed their daily broadcasts on WHIS radio in Bluefield, West Virginia and multi-instrumentalist Charlie Cline joined the band full-time. In 1949 fiddler Ray Morgan, Bob Osborne (guitar) and Larry Richardson (banjo) joined the group, and their style shifted to full-fledged bluegrass. They recorded four records for the Cozy label in 1950, including Pain in My Heart, which has since become a bluegrass standard recorded by many artists including Flatt & Scruggs.

You can read the full transcript on the IBMA’s website