2009 IBMA Awards Results

by | 3 Oct, 2009

Here is a complete list of award winners for this year’s IBMA Awards Night held at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville on Thursday night 1st October 2009.

Entertainer of the YearDailey & Vincent
Vocal Group of the YearDailey & Vincent
Instrumental Group of the YearMichael Cleveland & Flamekeeper
Male Vocalist of the YearDan Tyminski
Female Vocalist of the YearDale Ann Bradley
2009 IBMA Album of the YearWheels, Dan Tyminski, Rounder Records
Song of the YearDon’t Throw Mama’s Flowers Away, Artist – Danny Paisley & The Southern Grass, Writers – Chris Stuart & Ivan Rosenberg
Recorded Event of the YearProud To Be A Daughter of Bluegrass, Daughters of Bluegrass featuring Dale Ann Bradley, Heather Berry, Lisa Martin, Gloria Belle, Sierra Hull, Rhonda Vincent, Lisa Ray, Linda Lay, Sally Jones, Jeanie Stanley, Carol Lee Cooper, Sonya Isaacs, Becky Isaacs Bowman, Michelle Nixon, Jeanette Williams, Sophie Haislip, Louise Tomberlain, Mindy Rakestraw, Lizzy Long, Frances Mooney, Lorraine Jordan, Annette Kelley, Lily Lieux, Dixie Hall, Judi Marshall, Melissa Lawrence, Beth Lawrence, Rebecca Frazier, Donica Christensen, Lisa Manning & Jenni Lyn Gardner, Producers – Dixie Hall, Paula Wolak & Frances Mooney for Blue Circle Records
Gospel Recorded Performance of the YearOn The Other Side, Artists – Dailey & Vincent, Writers – Jimmy Fortune, Kevin Denney & Tom Botkin, Producers – Jamie Dailey & Darrin Vincent for Rounder Records
Instrumental Recorded Performance of the YearJerusalem Ridge, Artist – Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper, Writer – Bill Monroe, Producers – Jeff White & Michael Cleveland for Rounder Records
Emerging Artist of the YearThe SteelDrivers
Banjo Player of the YearKristin Scott Benson
Bass Player of the YearMarshall Wilborn
Fiddle Player of the YearMichael Cleveland
Dobro Player of the YearRob Ickes
Guitar Player of the YearJosh Williams
Mandolin Player of the YearJesse Brock
Bluegrass Event of the YearGrey Fox Bluegrass Festival, Oak Hill, New York; July 2008
Bluegrass Broadcaster of the YearKaty Daley, HD Radio WAMU 88.5 Channel 2, 105.5 FM & www.bluegrasscountry.org; Washington, D.C.
Print Media Person of the YearRoger Siminoff, Siminoff’s Luthiers Glossary, Banjo Newsletter and Bluegrass Breakdown
Best Liner Notes for Recorded ProjectSteve Martin, The Crow, Artist – Steve Martin, Label – 40 Share Productions
Best Graphic Design for Recorded ProjectG. Carr & Salli Ratts, Artist – The Crow, Steve Martin, Label – 40 Share Productions
IBMA Hall of Fame InducteesThe Lonesome Pine Fiddlers, The Dillards
IBMA Distinguished Achievement Award RecipientsHylo Brown, Pati Crooker, Jody Rainwater, Dick Spottswood, Joe Wilson