2008 – IBMA Nominees

by | 16 Aug, 2008

IBMA announces the nominees for the 19th Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards, to be hosted by Del McCoury, on Thursday, 2nd October 2008, at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville Tennessee. The list of nominees continues a trend of elevating a new wave of stars, as well as honoring the ongoing contributions of the genre’s legends. The nominations are:-

ENTERTAINER OF THE YEAR: Dailey & Vincent / The Grascals/ Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver / The Del McCoury Band / Rhonda Vincent & The Rage

VOCAL GROUP OF THE YEAR: Blue Highway / Dailey & Vincent  / The Grascals / The Isaacs / Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver / Danny Paisley and the Southern Grass

INSTRUMENTAL GROUP OF THE YEAR: Blue Highway /Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper /The Infamous Stringdusters /Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder /The Dan Tyminski Band

MALE VOCALIST OF THE YEAR: Jamie Dailey /Russell Moore /Tim O’Brien /Danny Paisley /Dan Tyminski

FEMALE VOCALIST OF THE YEAR: Dale Ann Bradley /Sonya Isaacs /Alison Krauss /Claire Lynch /Rhonda Vincent

ALBUM OF THE YEAR – (album, artist, producer(s), label): Dailey & Vincent, Dailey & Vincent (artists), Jamie Dailey & Darrin Vincent (producers), Rounder Records /Honoring The Fathers of Bluegrass -Tribute to 1946 and 1947, Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder (artists), Ricky Skaggs (producer), Skaggs Family Records /Lovin’ Pretty Women, Steep Canyon Rangers (artists), Ronnie Bowman (producer), Rebel Records /The SteelDrivers, The SteelDrivers (artists), Luke Wooten & The SteelDrivers (producers), Rounder Records /Through The Window Of A Train, Blue Highway (artists & producers), Rounder Records

SONG OF THE YEAR – (song, artist, songwriter/s) Alison’s Band, Charlie Sizemore Band (artists), Charlie Sizemore & Buddy Cannon (songwriters)/ By The Mark, Dailey & Vincent (artists), David Rawlings & Gillian Welch (songwriters) /Drinkin’ Dark Whiskey, The SteelDrivers (artists), Mike Henderson & Chris Stapleton (songwriters) /More Than A Name On A Wall, Dailey & Vincent (artists), Jimmy Fortune & John Rimel (songwriters) /Through The Window Of A Train,Blue Highway (artists), Tim Stafford & Steve Gulley (songwriters)

GOSPEL RECORDED PERFORMANCE OF THE YEAR – (song or album, artist/s, producer/s, label): Be Still Moses, Steep Canyon Rangers (artists), Ronnie Bowman (producer), Rebel Records /By The Mark, Dailey & Vincent (artists), Jamie Dailey & Darrin Vincent (producers), Rounder Records /Help Is On The Way, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver (artists), Doyle Lawson (producer), Horizon Records /Salt Of The Earth, Ricky Skaggs & The Whites (artists & producers), Skaggs Family Records /Where No One Stands Alone, Paul Williams & The Victory Trio (artists), Paul Williams (producer), Rebel Records

INSTRUMENTAL ALBUM OF THE YEAR – (album, artist/s, producer/s, label):Live At The Linda, David Grier (artist & producer), Dreadnought Records /Sound of the Slide Guitar, Andy Hall (artist & producer), Sugar Hill Records /Stepping Out, Jason Davis (artist), Jason Davis & Greg Luck (producers), Pinecastle Records /The Past Is Present, Jason Barie (artist & producer), Pinecastle Records /When At Last, Russ Barenberg ((artist and producer), Compass Record

EMERGING ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Cadillac Sky /Dailey & Vincent /Grasstowne /Danny Paisley and the Southern Grass /The SteelDrivers


BANJO PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kristin Scott Benson /J.D. Crowe /Jim Mills /Earl Scruggs /Ron Stewart

BASS PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Barry Bales /Mike Bub /Missy Raines /Darrin Vincent /Marshall Wilborn

FIDDLE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Hunter Berry /Jason Carter /Michael Cleveland /Stuart Duncan /Ron Stewart

DOBRO PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Mike Auldridge /Jerry Douglas /Rob Ickes / Randy Kohrs / Phil Leadbetter

GUITAR PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Cody Kilby /Tony Rice /Tim Stafford /Bryan Sutton /Josh Williams

MANDOLIN PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Sam Bush /Sierra Hull /Doyle Lawson /Ronnie McCoury /Adam Steffe